Manitoba Capital Region

The Manitoba Capital Region (MCR) is an area surrounding Manitoba’s capital and largest city, Winnipeg, located in the southeast part of the province, bounded to the north by the south basin of Lake Winnipeg.

The MCR includes the 16 municipalities identified in the Province of Manitoba’s Capital Region Partnership Act:

  • the City of Winnipeg;
  • the City of Selkirk;
  • the Town of Stonewall; and
  • the Rural Municipalities of:
    • Cartier,
    • East St. Paul,
    • Headingley,
    • Macdonald,
    • Ritchot,
    • Rockwood,
    • Rosser,
    • St. Andrews,
    • St. Clements,
    • St. Francois-Xavier,
    • Springfield,
    • Taché, and
    • West St. Paul.

A high-level view of the Manitoba Capital Region